xidai Publish time 2017-11-2 16:12:27

10 Tips for Living a Healthier, Greener Life

10 Tips for Living a Healthier, Greener Life

BY HANNAH GARDENERUpdated 07/31/16
As a healthy home consultant I face many challenges. The reasons that people resist the movement to “go green” and make eco-friendly, healthy changes to their homes and lives are many and varied. But the greatest challenge I have faced is the popular notion that healthy living is prohibitively expensive.That safer home products always imply greater cost. And that the only way to really reduce your family’s exposure to toxic environmental chemicals is by spending a lot of money, even if just in the short run.
I understand why a shift in energy to paying attention to environmental toxicity and the drive to change your living environment is stressful. People cover their ears because understanding environmental toxicity is scary, under the assumption that they have to replace everything in their homes and live in a bubble.
My mission is to help people understand that their goal is not to eliminate their exposure to toxic chemicals – because that is both impossible and unnecessary – but to reduce their exposure to toxic chemicals. To understand that small, gradual, easy, and inexpensive changes in their living environments can make measurable, substantial, and impactful changes in their family’s exposure to unhealthy chemicals. Since we don’t need to make our homes and environments completely toxin free, we can choose what we want to do, what we want to change, what we want to prioritize (in time, effort, and money), and what things we are not interested in changing.